cleaning, mEAndering, nEAtening, out and about

up hill and down dale…

I had quite a busy weekend but mostly enjoyable.

I did my two hours of paperwork over Friday and Saturday (mentioned in my previous post) and filed all the papers and then moved on to the Mount Everest of an ironing pile and finally managed a half-way clean in our office and main bedroom.

A half-way clean in my books is one that isn’t exactly a deep clean of moving furniture or emptying cupboards but neither a lick and tickle with the duster.  It always feels good to me to have a good clear up – tidying up loose ends as I go and then giving all the surfaces a good clean.  What a shame it doesn’t stay in shape for longer!

On Friday afternoon I took my good friend and neighbour out for Afternoon Tea for her birthday at a local Garden Centre called Totties – only when we got there did we find we should have booked!  We settled on a Cheese ploughman’s with hummus instead followed by ice cream – both courses were delicious.  We both agreed it was probably more enjoyable than Afternoon tea as we both like savoury foods more than too many sweet cakes.  We will definitely go back though to sample the Afternoon tea another day – remembering to book next time.

We travelled up to the Yorkshire Dales on Sunday to meet my daughter and granddaughter at the Himalayan Garden at Grewelthorpe between Ripon and Masham. 

I was a bit disappointed that it was overcast and in places quite cool but depending on where we walked in the garden we came across unexpected pockets of warm micro-climates.

It is quite a stunning 20 acre garden with a mass of very colourful and showy rhododendrons and Azaleas on wooded slopes with winding paths that lead down into a valley with two main lakes.

Dotted amongst the planting are modern sculptures – some I liked better than others and although it is an interesting garden I personally found some of the features a bit too themed but it didn’t really detract from the beauty of the place.  

These are the sculptures we did find interesting…

perhaps not a sculpture but I quite like this feature below!

The Primula here grow in abundance…

and this jetty is my favourite spot…

You have to admire the sheer scale of the planting and dedication that has gone into this place and it is still a work in progress.  The garden has an interesting history which you can read about in the new visitor centre.  It is a private garden that is only open for a limited number of weeks in the year and you have the added bonus of being able to talk to the head gardener in the Nursery for planting advice.

In all it was a pleasant day we had a picnic in the grounds and a cup of tea from the new chalet tea room and a play on the roundabouts then set off gathering pine cones, sticks and fallen leaves for granny to carry.  I resembled a nature table by the end of the walk.  In the Plant Nursery we were tempted to buy a delicately flowered white Azalea (see below) which is now waiting on our patio for a trip to Scotland.  It is not too showy and likes shade and will blend in well in our wood at the cottage.

At the end of the day we went home with one happy little girl…

and one happy granny…

My garden tonight – a little smaller in scale than the 20 acre garden but my little corner of tranquility and how quickly everything is growing.

And now its back to work while the weather is warmer and sunny!

 

 

6 thoughts on “up hill and down dale…”

  1. Your granddaughter is cute as punch! What a little sweetie. I can picture you laden down with her gathered treasures. What fun to spend time with the two of them and in such a gorgeous place. Your own garden looks magnificent. I’m glad you found a pretty azalea for your northern garden.

    On a more somber note, my thoughts have been with you and your extended community in the UK. I don’t know where you live relative to Manchester, but its a small island and I know we are all interconnected. Words are never adequate at times like this. Sending out love and hope.

    Like

    1. Manchester is just over the hill we are 6 miles from the boundary with Outer Manchester. My colleague and her daughter were in the Arena and traumatised. Thank you for your concern I will mention it to her when she returns to work.

      Like

  2. Your photos are beautiful but I can imagine that the gardener at the Himalayan garden you visited has to work hard to keep colour going throughout the year.
    I’m not fond of sculpture mixed up with woodland. It doesn’t belong there in my mind. ( I was going to write ” it’s not natural”, till I realised that most woodland isn’t either!)
    The neighbour’s garden is becoming less visible now and your garden is looking lovely. Sue

    Like

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

