Yo-yo organisation – is there a cure?

The sorting out and decluttering is taking a lot of time but I am trying to be very ruthless and thorough.  This week I have been through all my books in the office which are mainly craft, health, time, and home management.

Part of the bookcase before the tidy up still bearing the aftermath of Christmas

I limited myself to an amount which comfortably fits on the bookcase which instantly made the space look neater.  As well as not buying more magazines I have decided no more books either – for a while at least – instead I will reread some of the ones I already have and if I feel the information is not relevant any more I will give it away to the charity shop.

Bookcase after

In addition to my organising frenzy I have been thinking about the constant problem I seem to have with what is similar to Yo-yo dieting and that is my Yo-yo organisation.  I get everything organised and neat and tidy and then something happens like an event such as Christmas or a holiday which seems to take over and I end up with the house back in a mess.  It is not necessarily a big event that leads to my downfall – it might be that I have to work some overtime one or two nights or we have a weekend away or just the fact that I am often too tired to do anything after working all day and this alone can be enough to generate those piles again – piles of washing, ironing, paperwork, and items to put away.  So here are my thoughts on why this might be happening.

Reasons for finding I am getting back to chaos

  • Taking on too much
  • Spreading myself thinly because I hate to disappoint people and say no
  • Thinking I am superwoman and planning more than I can do in a day
  • Doing the wrong thing at the wrong time
  • Not allowing time for the clean up after a job
  • Booking out too many weekends away visiting etc
  • Leaving preparation to the last minute
  • Letting the filing and shredding pile mount up
  • Not taking the time to put things away after use
  • Not having a designated place for everything I own
  • Not learning from past mistakes
  • Continuing to do what doesn’t work
  • Going to bed late and getting up too late to get ahead with the day

In addition to this list there are other matters that I have identified as being definite problems in my life

Frequent and time-consuming issues that need resolving

  • Meals – these are something that I must get to grips with and plan ahead more to save time
  • Clearing up the kitchen after cooking and eating – this seems to be an endless task
  • Recycling – all the washing and sorting and storage and then disposal of the recycling rubbish
  • Paperwork – Hurrying to open all the mail and putting it to one side for later and not getting back to it for a few days
  • ISA fixed savings constantly reaching maturity and require re-investing this takes a lot of time to research a good rate as does searching for new insurance / energy / internet deals

As well as all this there are issues I keep having with finding a good system or storage or time which I need to consider

Other issues I need to address

  • The paperwork pending piles – where, when and how to ‘pend’ items waiting for a reply or a decision or action
  • Articles relevant for a current or future project
  • Items waiting for a future appointment or event
  • Upcoming exhibitions, plays art courses, gardens open etc
  • Magazine clippings
  • Finishing old projects
  • Collecting a lot of craft items and having no time to make things with them so I need to think about planning sometime for a ‘Crafternoon’

I have clearly a lot of thinking to do and then an action plan…watch this space!

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

