random thoughts

a special evening for a special lady…

Tomorrow evening at work we are holding a fund-raising event for our local Kirkwood Hospice in memory of my dear friend and colleague Helen who died over a year ago now before Christmas.  It would have been her birthday tomorrow and I miss not being able to give her a card and present and wish her many happy returns.

Each day I miss her cheery smile, I miss our general chit-chat catching up daily with news of the family or what we are planning for tea, I miss exchanging comments and likes and dislikes of the previous nights TV viewing.  I miss our laughter at the craziest things that reduced us to tears, the hot chocolate she made me when I was having a bad day, our moans and groans about the workload, and our planning for the future.

Tomorrow will be hard but we will be sharing together in remembering Helen and our office will be full of friends and family who loved and admired her.

God bless Helen – you were a special friend and missed so much.

4 thoughts on “a special evening for a special lady…”

  1. I hope yesterday surprised you and that everyone had a happy evening remembering your friend Helen.
    True friends,( the sort that, even if you haven’t seen them for a year, pick up conversations as if it were yesterday) are bound to leave an aching hole. Someone once said at a friend’s funeral,
    “We have all changed through knowing A so we all carry part of him around with us”. That helped so much and I have always remembered it.

    Like

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

