Please pass the gravy…in the right direction…

Dar from over at An Exacting Life commented on how laden the table was in my picture of the annnual Christmas family get together.

For those who missed it here it is again…

Meet the family

 

It does look rather obscene doesn’t it!!  …but there is a tale to tell…

Each year we take over the restaurant of the Black Swan where my daughter and her hubby work –  pushing all the tables together so we can all fit round comfortably.  This particular year, which I think was actually 2 or 3 years ago, we actually spent Christmas day together and had the full Christmas dinner with all trimmings, cooked for us by my daughters hubby the chef.

Of course being Christmas Day the pub was actually closed to the public and with no staff around my two daughters, the chef and myself posed as waitresses after we got everyone seated and Santa hatted.  For ease of serving everyone on such a large table we mentally divided it into quarters each one of us to serve the people on our alloted quarter.

After everyone was given a plate with Turkey on (or in our case Nutloaf) we nimbly ran round bringing out the vegetable dishes and roast potatoes, gravy boats, extra stuffing, and the many different sauces – bread sauce, white sauce, apple sauce, (you name it we probably had it) until with military precision and some careful manouvering we had the same selection of side dishes placed on each of the four quarters so everything was within easy reach.

Sounds simple doesn’t it?

…and all was well until… some of us failed to pass the dishes on in the right direction and as people helped themselves they would pass the dish on to someone in the adjoining quarter rather than the same quarter.  It became a bit like musical side dishes until we ended up with all the gravy in one quarter and all the sauces in another whilst others had nothing other than the stuffing and veg.

Well that’s families for you!!

At least no one had any difficulty passing on the ‘Pass the Pudding’  game afterwards – it was like a hot potato being hurled to anyone daft enough to catch it!

Well I must go now I have some Not so Secret Santa lists to compile and of course Sue over at Our New Life in the Country is waiting for me to get my act together and send her my address – I really don’t know why I thought she needed my email to send the book perhaps I was having a ‘ginger’ moment and thought she could send it as an attachment!  Just put it down to excitement at winning.

 

3 thoughts on “Please pass the gravy…in the right direction…

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

