celebrations, clEAning, drEAming, fEAsting, general chit chat, sEAsons

The Not so Secret Santa…

We had quite a busy weekend – I cleared up the kitchen and laundry room whilst hubby put the first watered down coat of paint on the newly plastered ceiling in the bathroom so that we can fit the downlights soon.  Progress is being made at last.

On Sunday we had a trip to Meadowhall, our local shopping mall – it was horrendously busy and the only reason we went was to take some boots back to Clinkards that I decided didn’t fit that well after all and to buy hubby a much-needed new winter coat.  The busyness of it all reminded me of why we don’t usually go there near Christmas although near Christmas now seems to start in October!

By popular demand our family are going to partake in the ‘Not so Secret Santa’ again this year.  We will spend £50 and buy for one person.  Then that is it …done, shopping over!

We had great fun last year just with the lists.  Each person had to make a list of up to 10 items they would like as a gift this is to help the person buying it and that is where the Not so Secret bit comes in or you can opt for a gift card or if you are really brave a complete surprise.   Last year the lists consisted of anything from a meal for two at the Hilton to an extra wide ironing board!

The live draw of names of who is buying for who took place courtesy of Facebook one evening as most of our family are on Facebook  – a bit like the live football draws.  Technology can be useful sometimes although some of our friends on Facebook thought we had gone mad and some wanted to join in!

Meet the family

We will then meet for the big present swap one weekend before Christmas and have our usual family party with crackers and games and of course we have a new addition to the family this year with baby L.

 

Before I go just thought I would mention that I have won a book about the Minimalists from Sue over at  Our New Life in the Country

I know I couldn’t believe it either especially since I have been away from blogging for a while and had only just got back to having a read around my favourite blogs and left Sue a comment.  I can’t wait to start reading – hope you have got it wrapped and ready to post Sue!

I must also say welcome to all my new followers – I hope you realise this will be a bumpy journey you have signed up for – I might come and go a bit over the next few months as we are trying to get our little cottage back to being habitable once more.  At the moment we are awaiting the strip out but once the reinstatement begins I imagine we will have to go up to Scotland quite frequently to supervise and my posts might be a bit thin once again.

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Not so Secret Santa…”

  1. The ‘Not so Secret Santa’ is a brilliant idea, everyone gets a gift of similar value and it is virtually guaranteed to be just what you want or need. Everyone wins and there’s no hassle or stress for the buyer …. hopefully.

    The book is wrapped and ready to go I just need your postal address, could you drop me another email 🙂

    Like

  2. I was at the nearest mall yesterday – a Monday – and couldn’t believe how busy it was. Here in Canada, there’s a bit of a tradition to stave off the Christmas shopping until after Remembrance Day, but it keeps creeping closer to Hallowe’en.

    I love your photo – can’t believe how loaded down that table is! Very festive!

    Like

  3. It will feel so much better when you are starting to put the cottage back together again, then it will get exciting.
    Meanwhile, the F&B colour chart is out here again. I think I now have a match pot for every off white they do. Should keep me going for a bit.

    Like

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

