bEAching, cottage garden, fEAsting, meal planning

An apple a day keeps the Deer happy…

Homegrown Apples

Some of these cooking apples may be a little misshapen and show signs of pest attack but they are home grown at our Beach Cottage in Scotland and taste delicious in a crumble.  I am hoping there will be a few more when we go up in a couple of weeks time.

If you look closely at this picture below, which I took back in July,  you can see a young deer that had ventured into our garden having a crafty nibble at my apple tree.  Fortunately all the apples are on the higher branches and out of reach.  I think it is quite probable that we have  a lot of  visits by the wildlife when we are not there, this lovely lady did seem a little surprised to see me pointing a camera at her.  I expect she usually has the garden to herself.

Deer with Apple Tree

 

This week we have been enjoying Plum and Apple Crumble.

Plum and Apple Crumble

read about it on Re-routed

10 thoughts on “An apple a day keeps the Deer happy…”

  1. We have 3 apple trees and will be having our little harvest session very soon. I usually freeze some for crumbles etc. If I made the crumbles to freeze none would make the freezer……it’s just so tempting….so delicious when cooling down. Lost count of how many times I have burnt my mouth by trying a crumble out before it has cooled down…..mmmmmmmmmm thinking now. Ice cream or custard?

    Like

  2. I would love to have deer in my garden even if they did steal the apples! I made an apple crumble on Sunday and have made one today for this evening. You can’t beat a good crumble – comfort food at its best. x

    Like

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

