drEAming, random thoughts

A sad sad day…

“The tide recedes, but leaves behind bright seashells on the sand

The sun goes down but gentle warmth still lingers on the land

The music stops but still lingers on in sweet refrain

For every joy that passes something beautiful remains”

DSC04713

 

I apologise for the long silence…those of you who have been following my blog will know that one of my dearest friends had been diagnosed as terminally ill last year and I am sorry to say she passed away the weekend before last while we were at the cottage.  In fact I lost two friends whilst we were away within days of each other, however, one was an elderly gentleman of 89 years but it is still very sad to say goodbye and I have cherished memories of both of them.

I will miss Mary so much – she had been a friend since my college days and we had been through many good times and many heartaches together and I am trying to get used to the fact that she is never going to be on the other end of a phone again when I most need her.  She has had so many wonderful messages and tributes on her Facebook page, she was a lovely caring person and an inspiration to all that knew her and I could not have wished for a better friend.

Her funeral will be next Tuesday so I will probably not be around much until after that but I do keep having a quick look at what you are all doing and I am sure I will get back to my blog very soon and fill you in with all my news.

Hope you all had a lovely Bank Holiday weekend.  x

12 thoughts on “A sad sad day…”

  1. My heart felt sympathies for the loss of your dear friend. It’s something that touches so many lives, isn’t it? I’m sure she’d be happy to read your verse at the opening of your lovely tribute, I know that I was. Take good care.

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry for your losses. The permanence of death is part of what makes it so difficult, the idea that we’ll never see that person again. My heart goes out to you. Thanks for letting us know.

    Like

  3. I’m so sorry to hear your news. It’s so hard to lose a friend, it is not the same as losing a member of our family, we chose the friends we bring into our lives and it makes them so extra special. Take care. xxx

    Like

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

