beach cottage, bEAching, cottage garden, mEAndering, weekend away

Rubble trouble…

I realise I have been a bit quiet lately – I am still here but not always able to write a post or comment on yours.  Life has been a bit hectic with a few problems brewing and I have been helping other people this week as and when they have needed it.

This weekend we went on a visit to one of my dearest and oldest friends since our days at art college together.  Sadly she is terminally ill and it is so painful watching her decline.  We had a bit of a reunion with another college friend reminiscing of the good old days when we all shared a student house together.  Life is so precious and the years go by so fast – I resolved in the car home tonight to live every day in the best way that I can because life is so very short.

On a brighter note we went to our Beach Cottage a couple of weekends ago.  Saturday was bright and sunny and we managed a trip to the tip (I get taken to all the nicest places) with some of our rubble and a bit of a dig in the garden.

Did I mention we have a slight problem with rubble – most of this is the remains of the concrete living room floor.  It was dug up and a new concrete floor laid with a damp proof course.  The rubble is being carried away to the tip bit by bit in our trailer.  We can now see quite a bit of the hard standing by the garage.

The rubble

The black polythene that has been covering a large part of our seaside garden had torn away in places by the wind leaving weeds springing up and starting to take root in the rubble.  Being neat and tidy minded I do like our rubble pile to be neat and tidy too, so I set about clearing and digging this little patch around it as you can see.  I pulled the edge of the polythene back over the mound of earth which needs flattening off but that will have to be another visit.  Eventually I was rained off but felt quite pleased with the small area I had done and thought it looked a bit less of a ‘tip’.

Clearing the mounds

On the Sunday it poured down with rain and this picture is the same view at the bottom of our garden as my header but looking very grey and dismal, we couldn’t even see the land across the bay.

Winter Sea February

It is amazing how during the winter months the whole beach shifts around even some quite large boulders.

The raging sea

It was obvious that the sea had been washing over the grass from time to time leaving pebbles and debris scattered about.  Until winter is over and the sea calms down it is not worth clearing anything here.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Rubble trouble…”

  1. Watching my mother decline very rapidly now I can understand exactly your feelings about life being so short. It seems every year goes by faster than the last. I’m sorry to hear about your friend. Jx

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. I’m sure your visit brightened her day immensely. We had a friend get ill last May and she passed in June. We were stunned and glad we visited when we did.

    Do you worry about soil erosion at all? Sounds pretty rough at times.

    Like

    1. I am hoping we might get a few more visits but as you say we have to be prepared it might have been the last. The land has eroded around the headland but it has a way to go before it would reach us and no doubt the council might step in with an erosion plan (usually large boulders placed against the banking as they have done further along the coast). There is an old mill cottage further along the bay that was built many years ago only about ten yards from the sea and it has survived for many decades and never suffered erosion – it really depends on the way the sea hits the coastline.

      Like

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. I’m glad you could spend time together. I’m sure it meant the world to her. It sure does give you perspective, doesn’t it?

    Nice job with the clean up. I know that had to be hard work.

    is there any way to creatively use the remaining pieces of concrete? Perhaps a small retaining wall hidden by plants or an ring or edging around a tree? It would save you the trouble of hauling it away piece by by piece.

    Lucky you to have such a beautiful place to spend time.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words we had a good day and I am hoping we might get a few more with her but you never know – things can take a down turn very quickly. We have used some of the rubble to fill in a large hole and since my post a friend has removed most of it for hardcore on her 5 acre plot!

      Like

  4. I am sorry to hear about the sad time you have been having Vivien and hope that nicer and lighter times are just waiting around the corner for you. Good work at the cottage. It will be lovely for you down there when the weather warms up. x

    Like

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

