sEAsons

See the blazing Yule before us…

Yule Log Fire

…Fa la la la la la la la la…

It is certainly cold tonight and we are hugging the fire wrapped in cosy blankets to keep out any draughts.  Luckily the left over Lasagne made freshly last night by my better half has made a good quick meal for us tonight as we were both home quite late, my better half because the M62 was a complete nightmare and me because I decided on a whim to stay over in town after work and indulge in some late night shopping.  I wish I could say that I have now cracked the present list  – but not quite.  I have now a long weekend to look forward to, having booked a day off work on Monday.

On 13th December 31 years ago our beautiful younger daughter was born, it was a Sunday and during the day so much snow fell that we had to remain in hospital together for 5 long days because the midwives struggled to get to the new mums who had made it home.  We named her Lucy, not knowing then that the 13th December is St Lucy’s day, the Saint of light and she is our little beaming ray of light.  Happy Birthday Lucy x

Lucy

 

This is Lucy’s Angel on the right  – you might not guess that it is a toilet roll centre and a doyle!  She ran out of school one day before Christmas many years ago clutching this in her little hands and could hardly wait to hand it to me, obviously delighted with her creation.  The Angel is 26 years old now and becoming a little shabby around the edges and each year I have to keep gluing bits back together but Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without this decoration on the mantlepiece.  We are rather mad on Angels in our house and each year the girls find a new one on the top of their stockings, they have been made out of wire, fabric, wood, plaster, glass and even chocolate.  The Angel hunt begins early for us and choosing a new one is a very serious business.  This years Angels are all ready in a secret hiding place waiting to make an appearance on Christmas Eve…shhh

Paper Angels

Meet the family

Meet the family

On Sunday our Christmas family get together is beginning to take shape – we have a time we can all agree on, a venue, a menu and some extra new Santa style hats courtesy of the Pound shop or was it Pound Land or even Pound World?  My daughter managed to get hold of a Pass the Pud game, last one in Yorkshire I think, but hopefully it will provide some of the entertainment.  I am just hoping for good weather so we can all journey up or down to Masham for the day and not worry about getting stranded.

13 thoughts on “See the blazing Yule before us…”

    1. Thanks – we did have a good get together and the weather kept fine and sunny so no travel problems. Have a lovely Christmas it has been good getting to know you this year and hopefully on one of your visits to the UK we might even get to meet. Viv xx

      Like

      1. Glad you had a good celebration! Ours is coming right up. I have enjoyed your blog and your views of your part of the world – hope I get to see it closer up! And it would be great if you ever decided to come to eastern Canada 🙂

        Like

  1. I hope you had a great family get together. I did leave you a comment her last week but it doesn’t seem to have appeared.Wishing you a very Happy Christmas and I will look forward to more tips on organisation next year. Did you reach your target weight ? have been going up and down but I was delighted that the scales read the right numbers when I weighed myself before my nephews wedding yesterday!
    Sarah x

    Like

    1. Not sure what happened to your comment – I did receive one that I never got to reply to – things have been a bit manic here – so much so I am thinking of doing the slow walk to Christmas next year starting on January 1st just so I can get ahead! I will be picking up on the target weight in the new year – I am pleased you have had a good reading even a couple of pounds makes a difference to how you feel – a couple in the right direction that is!
      I am just about to add another post tonight all being well – I have been doing it in spare 5 mins here and there! I hope you have a lovely Christmas and I just wanted to say I have really enjoyed your friendship this year and look forward to it continuing through next year. Viv x

      Like

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

