mEAndering, out and about, weekend away

Corstopitum (Corbridge)…a Roman heritage

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Visit to Corbridge

Last weekend we went to visit my mum who lives between Stockton and Yarm.  We had a lovely day out in Corbridge which is way up near Newcastle and Hadrians Wall.  It is a place steeped in history with Roman connections and as far back as 1827 Corbridge was a place renowned for its small shops and several of the decorated fronts still survive. It is still known for its quaintness and unique shops and is an ideal base to explore the beauty of Northumberland.

We parked in the Free car park on the other side of the river Tyne and after crossing over the 17th Century stone bridge we began to explore the village, stopping off to have lunch at The Cafe House – wonderful food and great service.  Along many of the streets the houses had colourful window boxes and tubs re-planted with winter displays of cheery pansies and evergreen foliage.

Eventually we came to St Andrews church.  Inside are the most beautiful stained glass windows in rich jewel colours.  The organist was playing whilst we wandered around inside.  Outside in the grounds of the church is  a very strange tower which appears to have no windows at the lower levels.  It is called the Vicars Peele and was built in the churchyard in 1318 and used as the vicarage for the adjacent church.  It is built mainly from sandstone taken from the Roman Fortress at Coria nearby and has three storeys, with one room to each storey.  It was in use as a vicarage until the early 17th century.

After a browse in the local book shop and a hot cup of chocolate and a fruit scone in a nearby cafe to escape the cold weather we headed back to the car  –  I hope you enjoy the pictures.

12 thoughts on “Corstopitum (Corbridge)…a Roman heritage”

  1. It looks absolutely beautiful, the sort of place I would love to explore.We went to Hadrians wall a few years ago, cant remember the name of where, but there was a museum on site of the various finds etc and I found it all fascinating.Walking in the footsteps of our ancestors all those years ago left me very moved.

    Like

    1. You can feel that it is a place steeped in history and it is obviously being preserved very well by the people who live there. I can’t wait to go and explore more when we visit my mum again. It was such a cold day we only saw a small part of the village.

      Like

  2. Another lovely place you have taken us too. I don’t know the North of England at all, so it’s lovely to explore them with you. I like the way you have shown them on a slide show too. Hope you have a good time this weekend too.
    Sarah x

    Like

    1. The slide show was partly accidental as I clicked on the wrong setting after uploading – but now I know what ‘Gallery’ means!
      I too have not been and explored Northumberland properly I have usually only passed through on the way to the east coast of Scotland so it is all new to me too but the country side is very beautiful and so much space.

      Like

  3. I did enjoy the pictures, and the ‘Gallery’!
    It is good to get a feel for places that you would not normally visit. If I am ever up that way again, I’ll definitely stop by in Corbridge. Thanks.

    Like

    1. I will get around to the rest of the pictures from the weekend visit as soon as I have some free time – mum is coming on her visit here on Thursday for a few days to begin her Christmas shopping so I have been busy having the frenzied tidy up in the last few days!!

      Like

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

