dance me to the wedding now…

… dance me on and on
Dance me very tenderly and dance me very long
We’re both of us beneath our love, we’re both of us above
Dance me to the end of love

  Leonard Cohen

What a beautiful day we had on Saturday to celebrate the marriage between my niece and her Indian partner which took place in India in February (although sadly her better half could not be here due to a delay with his Visa!)

It was a very relaxed and casual affair in the village hall at Wytham in Oxfordshire which was decorated inside and out with colourful bunting.

The weather did not disappoint – and as it was a beautifully warm and sunny day we could spill over outside to enjoy the barbecue…

and picnic on the grass…

and after lunch we went for a wander around the pretty village…

peeking in gateways…

and admiring the cute cottages.

I especially like this one with the bins either side of the gate!  Perhaps wheelie bins are the new Bay trees in Oxford.

We were entertained by cousin Poppy who I am sure is going to be a big star one day…

and the dancing troupe from Oxfam (where my niece and partner met) who reformed and performed a number of Indian Bollywood style dances for the party…

and finally as dusk begins to settle…

the Brits just had to challenge the Indians to a game of cricket (given that no one was too sober at this point it is a wonder anyone could play) you can probably guess the outcome!!

A little more chatting and a bit of dancing – a perfect end to a perfect day and a jar or two of homemade wedding jam to take away.

The only disappointing part of the day was the Travel Lodge at Pear Tree roundabout just outside Oxford.  It is not a patch on the one we stayed in at Shrewsbury and I just had to take a few pictures to remind me why I may never stay in one again.  I know they are basic but this one is in serious need of a complete refurb.

I thought at first these pictures were some kind of First Aid notice! …and yes the frame on the left is falling apart and paint is coming off the walls.

The lampshades were dirty and the room generally shabby…

mmmm…and the bath taps just looked like they needed a good clean with some Mr Sparkle.

Come on Travel Lodge I know you can do better – a room can be old but still clean and well maintained – elbow grease and attention to detail does not cost a lot.

Wikipedia: E is a vowel and the fifth letter in the ISO basic Latin alphabet.

5 thoughts on “dance me to the wedding now…

  1. Love this! Mr. Cohen was in concert in our fine city a few years ago and I had tickets just a few rows from the stage. Lovely, intimate, funny and inspiring! It’s our wedding anniversary this weekend (28 years) so I shall share this with the man!

    Justice

    Like

      • I have a friend who was at the concert and then went for breakfast with her family the next morning. Guess who walked in the restaurant with one of his musicians and two of his back up singers? Mr. Cohen himself. He chatted with them, took pictures and was his sweet self. They loved that experience even more than the concert! I missed the tv one but saw it was going to be on again soon. I’ll have to tape it then.

        Like

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

