Thoughtful Thursday…

“This must be Thursday,’ said Arthur to himself, sinking low over his beer. ‘I never could get the hang of Thursdays.”

Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

I have spent the whole week at work steadily reducing my pile of files and getting rid of some of those ‘hangers on’ you know the ones I mean – the problem files – the difficult matters – the ones people pass to you to sort and suddenly there in the corner they breed overnight.  Well I have achieved a small victory – probably short-lived – but one worth noting.  Each problem dealt with is another tick off the list and nothing feels better than crossing off those items one by one.

Tomorrow is my day off and chance to start on my domestic To Do list with just as many problems to sort.  This weekend we will be going to my nieces wedding celebration party in Oxford – the snag is – the groom is unable to attend – yes very unusual I know and it is a long story but there you go.  It will be a very casual affair in a picturesque little village hall with barbecue and dancing.  I have to put together a suitably coordinated outfit to pack tomorrow from a rather uncoordinated selection.  I have some nice tops and even some nice bottoms but the nice tops don’t necessarily go with the nice bottoms!

We will be staying in Oxford overnight on Saturday and although I would have liked to try the much acclaimed Malmaison hotel, converted from an old prison, there were no deals going and anyway the converted cells might feel a bit too claustrophobic for me.  So we have booked into the local Travel Lodge (practical and very predictable) but fine for what we need.

Beautiful conversion of the Old Oxford Prison ...

I am hoping for good weather as I intend to pack as if it will be good weather with only a standby jumper and umbrella thrown in just in case. I haven’t checked yet but I am presuming my toiletries bag is still all ready to go from my weekend away at my sisters wedding.

First thing on Friday morning I need to make a list and already it looks like my Friday Fling and Fiscal Friday may have to wait yet another week as I will be lucky to even attempt the quickest of Tidy Friday’s.  Oh how I long for a weekend at home, two in a row would be even better but that might be asking a bit much!

One thought on “Thoughtful Thursday…

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

