Getting back on track…

Fixing your objective is like identifying the North Star 
- you sight your compass on it and then use it as the means
 of getting back on track when you tend to stray.
- Marshall Dimockz

Today I woke up a different person as this was the day when I decided enough is enough and I need to take back my time, get back on track and get some things moving and sort out my life.

Over the past week I have identified some of my time thieves and what rogues they are – slippery little monsters – that need to be captured and banished.  I have realised that over the last few months due to the pressures of work my whole day has gradually shifted forward so that I have got to the point where I am in a cycle of working late – getting home late – eating late – blogging extremely late – going to bed late and guess what – getting up late and (shh don’t tell my boss) but often getting in to work late by 5 – 10 minutes, and not in very good shape either.  The bags under my eyes are so huge now I wonder who this person is looking back at me in the mirror.

So I had to take a stand and the first issue on my list is to leave work on time at 4pm – only by doing this will the rest of my day slot back into place so everything is done earlier and I get a chance to be in bed by eleven.  I am eventually hoping for 10.30 so I am able to have a good eight hours sleep but I am being realistic here.

So today I left work ON TIME yes really on time – no staying to finish off what I was doing for another 20-30 minutes, or picking up the phone as it rings just as I am leaving, or getting involved with some last-minute request which would save until morning – I just put on my voice-mail, cleared my desk space, shut down my computer, got my coat on and left.

I must say it didn’t feel quite right as it is something that I am not used to doing yet and I did feel like I was sneaking out early rather than on time but once I get into the habit, which I do intend to do, everyone will get the message that I finish at 4pm – no matter what!

In addition to this I will be making an effort to get down my list of tasks by doing just one thing each day.  Removing one task each day makes a difference and gets things done and if possible I will do a batch of tasks. Today for instance I successfully managed a batch of To Do’s in 20 minutes while I was out at lunchtime getting a sandwich.  The errands I had were all for one area of town and by planning my route carefully I was able to

  • post my letters
  • buy 2 cards – a get well card and one for our Wedding Anniversary tomorrow (36 wonderful years!)
  • go to the indoor market for some cheap Tupperware pots to keep my garden fertilizers and feed in (more about this in another post).

Each evening if nothing else I will set a task for the following day – tomorrow it will be the banks – I have to pay in some cheques, update our pass-book and whilst in the location get a watch battery.

Now I am going to fall into bed – later than I had intended – but a little better than I have been doing.

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

