Secret Gardens of Winster…

It has been a busy Monday today at work, then shopping afterwards.  This morning I had to haul myself out of bed to go to work after a tiring non-stop weekend.  My mum arrived on the Thursday evening and after a good nights sleep she had her tooth removed at the dentist on the Friday morning at 10.15am and at 10.40am we were in town, in Costa, having coffee and cake (well mum was – I had hot chocolate and a mushroom and egg breakfast roll).  Given that my mum is eighty…..something (she wouldn’t thank me for advertising her age on the internet – but she is more than halfway through!!) she did very well.  It is only her second ever tooth removed so I hope I do as well at her age.

We shopped for a while then returned home for a quick nap for mum and a mountain of dishes to wash for me.  An hour and a spotless kitchen later we drove over the hill to mums favourite place for tea – ‘Compos cafe’ for a Fish and Chip pensioners special.  Being vegetarian I had Lasagne and not, I might add, a pensioners special – I don’t quite qualify yet in age – only look as if I do at the moment!

Saturday it managed to stay dry and sunny so we set off for Derbyshire and had lunch at the Hassop Station Bookstore and then on to Winster to wander round their Secret Gardens.  Below are a few photos I took on our journey around the village.

Coloured bunting was strewn across the main street…

…and there was a mass of colour everywhere despite the awful weather we have had…

…many of the gateways and paths are so inviting…

…and we saw vegetables growing everywhere from tiny borders

…to more creative spaces…

…in raised beds…

…and purpose made kitchen garden plots…

…there was even one or two hidden surprises!

Many thanks to the talented gardeners of Winster – we loved your gardens and had a wonderful day – can’t wait for next year.

You may also like to read…

Stanton in Peak Open Gardens

Before you go I would love to hear from you...

